sources

 

A&R

Berklee. (n.d.-a). A&R Manager | Berklee. https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/ar-coordinator#:%7E:text=Most%20start%20as%20college%20marketing,artists%20for%20managers%20to%20sign

Berklee. (n.d.-b). A&R Representative | Berklee. https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/ar-representative

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021, March 8). How to Become an A&R Coordinator | Description & Salary - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/a-r-coordinator/

Gray, K. (2020, September 22). Music Business Explained: What is A&R? Gravitas Create. https://gravitascreate.com/a-and-r-explained/

          

J. (2018, August 8). All You Need to Know About Record Label A&R. SmartistU. https://smartistu.com/all-you-need-to-know-about-record-label-ar

Music Careers. (2021, April 18). A&R - Artists and Repertoire. https://www.musiccareers.net/industry-terms/a-and-r/

Rocchi, T. (2020, September 21). What Is A&R in the Music Industry Today? How Music Charts. https://blog.chartmetric.com/what-is-a-and-r-music-industry-today/

The Role of an Artist and Repertoire Representative. (n.d.). The Balance Careers. https://www.thebalancecareers.com/what-is-aandr-artist-and-repertoire-2460349

Trapp, M. (2020, September 9). What Does an A&R Actually Do? Complex. https://www.complex.com/pigeons-and-planes/2020/09/what-is-an-a-r-2020

 

brand partnerships

Brand Management and Local Marketing Software | CampaignDrive. (n.d.). PICA9. Retrieved May 26, 2021, from https://www.pica9.com

CCA. (n.d.). Music Brand Partnerships | CAA. Retrieved May 26, 2021, from https://www.caa.com/music-brand-partnerships 

MAC Presents. (n.d.). About. Retrieved May 26, 2021, from http://www.macpresents.com/about/

 

Staff, S. (2016, September 6). The growing importance of brand partnerships in the music industry. Strive Sponsorship, UK. https://strivesponsorship.com/2016/09/04/the-growing-importance-of-brand-partnerships-in-the-music-industry/

Study.com | Take Online Courses. Earn College Credit. Research Schools, Degrees & Careers. (2021). Study.Com. https://study.com/articles/brand_partnership_manager_job_description_salary.html

Big thanks to our interviewee at Primary Wave.

 

business & legal affairs

 

international

Arguellez, S. (n.d.). Captcha Challenge. . .. Quizlet. Retrieved May 26, 2021, from https://quizlet.com/70738902/chapter-13-record-label-flash-cards/

Evans, L. (2021, April 5). What is a Record Label? Exploration. https://exploration.io/what-is-a-record-label/#:%7E:text=Typically%2C%20international%20departments%20make%20licensing,tours%20when%20artists%20go%20abroad

VelvetJobs. (2021). Warner Music Group Assistant, International Marketing | Velvet Jobs. https://www.velvetjobs.com/job-posting/assistant-international-marketing-568097

Big thanks to our 3 interviewees at RCA, Sony UK, and Atlantic Records.

 

marketing

Berklee. (2010, January 1). Marketing Manager | Berklee. https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/marketing-manager

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2020, September 4). How to Become a Marketing Coordinator | Description & Salary - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/marketing-coordinator/

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021a, March 8). How to Become a Campus Representative. https://www.careersinmusic.com/campus-representative/ 

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021b, March 8). How to Become a Music Marketing Rep | Description & Salary - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/music-marketing-representative/

Careers, M. (2021, April 9). Record Company. Music Careers. https://www.musiccareers.net/tag/inside-a-record-company/

Evans, L. (2021, April 5). What is a Record Label? Exploration. https://exploration.io/what-is-a-record-label/

 

Input Youth. (n.d.). Job Guide - Music Promotions Manager. https://www.inputyouth.co.uk/jobguides/job-musicpromotionsmanager.html

Marrs, M. (2020, March 5). UGC 101: A Guide to User-Generated Content Marketing. Word Stream. https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2014/04/28/user-generated-content

Ruyle, B. (n.d.). 57 Marketing Terms You Need to Know. Influence and Co. https://blog.influenceandco.com/50-marketing-terms-you-need-to-know

What is CRM? (n.d.). Salesforce.Com. https://www.salesforce.com/crm/what-is-crm/#:%7E:text=Customer%20relationship%20management%20(CRM)%20is,with%20customers%20and%20potential%20customers.

 

product management

Berklee. (n.d.). Product Manager | Berklee. Retrieved June 16, 2021, from https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/product-manager

DigitalMusicNews. (2021, February 22). Record Label Product Manager. Digital Music News. https://www.digitalmusicnews.com/jobs/record-label-product-manager/

Music Ally. (2018, February 9). International Label & Product Manager - Kobalt Music Recordings - London. https://musically.com/2018/02/09/international-label-product-manager-kobalt-music-recordings-london/

Music Week. (n.d.). Product Manager. Jobs | Music Week. Retrieved June 16, 2021, from https://www.musicweek.com/jobs/read/product-manager/02583

Tworetzky, B. (2018, June 21). What Does a Product Manager Do? - Brent Tworetzky. Medium. https://medium.com/@tworetzky/what-does-a-product-manager-do-205b40d82da3

Big thanks to our interviewee at Sony Music US.

 

promotion

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021, March 8). How to Become a Promotion Manager | Description & Salary - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/promotion-manager/

Input Youth. (n.d.). Job Guide - Music Promotions Manager. Retrieved May 26, 2021, from https://www.inputyouth.co.uk/jobguides/job-musicpromotionsmanager.html

Berklee. (n.d.-a). Independent Radio Promoter | Berklee. Retrieved June 16, 2021, from https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/radio-promoter

 

Berklee. (n.d.-b). Program Director (Radio) | Berklee. Retrieved June 16, 2021, from https://www.berklee.edu/careers/roles/program-director


Careers, M. (2020, July 9). Promotion Department. Music Careers. https://www.musiccareers.net/industry-terms/promotion-department/

Big thanks to our interviewee at Atlantic Records.

 

sales

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021a, March 8). How to Become a Record Label Salesperson - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/record-company-salesperson/

Careers In Music, Music Schools & Colleges. (2021b, March 8). How to Become a Regional Sales Manager - Careers in Music. https://www.careersinmusic.com/regional-sales-manager/

Evans, L. (2021, April 5). What is a Record Label? Exploration. https://exploration.io/what-is-a-record-label/

Fowlkes, K. (2020, January 5). Why Sign A Distribution Deal? - THE COURTROOM. Medium. https://medium.com/the-courtroom/why-sign-a-distribution-deal-b9fd3870d62e#:%7E:text=The%20record%20label%20signs%20the,others%20distributed%20albums%20on%20consignment

Klein, A. (2021, February 17). How Record Labels Work. HowStuffWorks. https://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/record-label1.htm

Music Biz Academy. (n.d.). Inside Record Labels: A Look Inside Major and Independent Record Labels. http://www.musicbizacademy.com/knab/articles/insidelabels.htm#:%7E:text=The%20Sales%20Department%20oversees%20all,and%20other%20mass%2Dmarket%20retailers

Spotify. (2018, August 16). Metadata: What It Is and Why It Matters – Spotify for Artists. https://artists.spotify.com/blog/metadata-what-it-is-and-why-it-matters

The Balance Careers. (n.d.). Why Record M and D Deals Can Be Good for Indie Labels. https://www.thebalancecareers.com/music-industry-manufacturing-and-distribution-deals-2460502

Big thanks to our interviewee at Sony Music US.